It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:42 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 13
Hello, I am having problems. I am trying to convert a model from mod F1 RSS 2017 from Assetto Corsa to rFactor 2 but everytime I open the kn5, 3DSimed closes.

I tried opening in 3dsmax and it opens well. Also tried exporting in .3ds and importing in 3dsimed but it misses all materials, etc...

I tried with some official content .kn5 and it imports but this one doesn't but it works in 3ds max.

I please you to help me because I can't convert it.

Here you go with the .kn5, so you can investigate the issue: https://mega.nz/#!omgQELaR!RmOwHTFXXzBg ... Qb7osYW740

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1285
Location: Barnet, London
Thanks for uploading the Kn5, I can see there's something 3DSimED does not like about this file - I will be looking at this.

When you say it imports to 3DSMax do you mean via Fbx or is their a way to import the Kn5 directly?.

Cheers

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:07 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 13
Hello. I exported the kn5 and opened .obj in 3ds max, it worked. I tried .fbx in 3ds max too and it worked.

I also tried importing .fbx in 3dsimed but it didn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 13
BlackGoku wrote:
Hello. I exported the kn5 and opened .obj in 3ds max, it worked. I tried .fbx in 3ds max too and it worked.

I also tried importing .fbx in 3dsimed but it didn't work.


I tried opening .fbx in 3dsmax, exporting as .3ds, opening .3ds in 3dsimed and it closes the program again.

:(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:06 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1285
Location: Barnet, London
There is a way to import your model - untick 'Keep Object Nesting' in the import options for kn5.

The car has for some reason a very deeply nested structure and this was causing problems to 3DSimED so it will require a new version of the application, this means it could be a while before the fix is released (I cannot fix it with an update to the Assetto Corsa plugin).

Cheers

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:30 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 13
Dave Noonan wrote:
There is a way to import your model - untick 'Keep Object Nesting' in the import options for kn5.

The car has for some reason a very deeply nested structure and this was causing problems to 3DSimED so it will require a new version of the application, this means it could be a while before the fix is released (I cannot fix it with an update to the Assetto Corsa plugin).

Cheers

Dave N.


Ok, Thanks. I already tried that but it makes the model be horrible. Anyway I am very happy it will be fixed soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group