It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:12 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
New: Forza 7 Support. Earlier versions of 3DSimED could import Forza 7 models with the Forza Apex Import Plugin but version 3.1l has many improvements to help import Forza 7 car models. The plugin understands the new pcfamily and base sub-folders of media, has improved diffuse texture handling, includes an option to import the blur wheel materials and will read more swatchbin texture types.

New: Wavefront .OBJ export plugin.

New: F1-2017 _model Import Plugin . This allows individual models to be imported but requires game ERP archives to be decompressed.

New: Tools ->Expand-> Single ERP Archive/Batch ERP Archive. Decompress individual or folder tree of ERP archives.

Enhanced: Added rF2 shader “car body paint with damage”.

Fix: Forza 7/Apex/Horizon 3 Import has better handling for missing materialbins and should not crash if files are missing.

Fix: Models with deeply nested objects could crash 3DSimED.

Fix: Wavefront .OBJ import could not import quoted texture map names.

Fix: TDU Import would corrupt some meshes.

Visit http://www.sim-garage.co.uk for more information and to download.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:02 pm 
Offline
Tirechanger
Tirechanger

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 20
Download link not working. Everytime I click on download, it sends me here: http://sim-garage.co.uk/software-releas ... in-update/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:41 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
Apologies, working now.

Cheers

Dave N.

BlackGoku wrote:
Download link not working. Everytime I click on download, it sends me here: http://sim-garage.co.uk/software-releas ... in-update/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 6:36 am 
Offline
Crew Chief
Crew Chief

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:13 am
Posts: 86
Location: liverpool.uk
Thanks again Dave, always look forward to your updates.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:50 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:45 am
Posts: 4
Dave Noonan wrote:
New: F1-2017 _model Import Plugin . This allows individual models to be imported but requires game ERP archives to be decompressed.

So, I'm probably missing something here... But when I import the .idf_model files (as exported from the ERP archive), I get a blank screen.

What am I doing wrong?

[EDIT] Nevermind, I found my own mistake. You're a champ, Dave!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:59 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:39 am
Posts: 5
How can I import _model? I When I open it I cannot see anything


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:57 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
Can you tell me which model?, all those I have tried so far work but there over 6000 to test so I am sure some don't.

Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:25 am 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:22 am
Posts: 2
does 3dsimed also read the tiling data for the textures of each material when importing FM7/FH3 models?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:08 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
Not sure what you mean but 3DSimED does try to read the texture coordinates of each material.

Cheers

Dave N.

Neos7 wrote:
does 3dsimed also read the tiling data for the textures of each material when importing FM7/FH3 models?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:21 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:22 am
Posts: 2
by tiling i mean how much the uv channel is scaled for each texture layer
cause it looks like it's missing comparing how materials are imported and how they look in game
this is how 3ds shows it in the material editor, for each layer it has offset and tiling
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:16 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
Yes, I know that's how 3DSMax does it but in Forza the texture coordinates will be 'baked' with those tiling factors. The most likely correction required in 3DSimED is selecting the correct channel for the diffuse texture.

Cheers

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:24 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 10:56 am
Posts: 13
Just some thing i have seen on a Forza 7 model (Audi RS6). The UVs some a little messed up and also with many broken vertices. Is this normal?


Attachments:
rs6.jpg
rs6.jpg [ 323.52 KiB | Viewed 63 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:13 am 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
The problem is that the texture coordinates are probably for a bump/normal map and not for a livery.

We are all very used to having models in which the first texture coordinate channel is for a livery but this is not necessarily the case with the Forza series.


Cheers!

Dave N.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:08 pm 
Offline
Jackman
Jackman

Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 10:56 am
Posts: 13
Dave Noonan wrote:
The problem is that the texture coordinates are probably for a bump/normal map and not for a livery.

We are all very used to having models in which the first texture coordinate channel is for a livery but this is not necessarily the case with the Forza series.


Cheers!

Dave N.


I'm well aware of different UVs for different games. But there seems to be something inherently wrong with the RS6. As the UVs are actually screwed up some what. It's not that i can't find the UV i want on UV1.

Is it because this car is setup slightly differently to the others. Most of the files seem to be in "media\cars\aud_rs6_15\scene\_library\scene\AUD_RS6_Alt_001\Scene\exterior" instead of the normal "\media\cars\aud_rs6_15\scene\Exterior". Here is the car if you haven't got it. http://www.mediafire.com/file/4owpyw8w5 ... rs6_15.zip
As you can see in the images the rear doors UVs' seem the worst.

Cheers


Attachments:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 555.87 KiB | Viewed 38 times ]
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 569.48 KiB | Viewed 38 times ]
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 455.76 KiB | Viewed 38 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3DSimED 3.1l
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:43 pm 
Offline
US Pits Crew
US Pits Crew

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 1302
Location: Barnet, London
For the Audi uv issue carpaint material, swap channel 2 for channel 0?.

Cheers!

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group